Skip to Main Content
Sign In

Anthropology Student Awards

Image Picker for Section 0
Edwin C. Buxbaum Award

​In recognition of senior anthropology majors demonstrating academic excellence.

Edwin Buxbaum studied anthropology as a second career after a successful career as a chemist at DuPont. His interest in Greek sponge fisherfolk (in Greece and in immigrant communities in the U.S.) led him to anthropology. He taught at the University of Delaware for many years and was a formative member of the department.

Award Winners for 2020

Harrison Crum

Molly Fulton

Previous Edwin C. Buxbaum Award Recipients

Julian Steward Award

​In recognition of junior anthropology majors demonstrating academic excellence.

Julian Steward was a twentieth-century American anthropologist best known for developing the concept and method of cultural ecology as well as a scientific theory of culture change. He helped transform evolutionary thought in cultural anthropology away from a unilinear idea of progress to an empirically-based study of cultural adaptation.

Award Winners for 2020

Amy Ciminnisi

Nikki Pratt

Previous Julian Steward Award Recipients

Barbara Hughes Award

​In recognition of sophomore anthropology majors demonstrating academic excellence.

Barbara Hughes was a returning adult student to the University of Delaware who majored in both anthropology and sociology and served the community as a justice of the peace in New Castle County for more than two decades.

Award Winners for 2020

Julianna Salak

Previous Barbara Hughes Award Recipients

Juan A. Villamarin Leadership Award

For leadership and service to the anthropology community at the University of Delaware.

    Juan A. Villamarin, Professor, and for many years Chair of the Department of Anthropology, chose to work with students who were underrepresented in undergraduate education. He formed close relationships with generations of students who called him "Papa Juan." He had deep empathy for students, especially those who were new to the academic environment, and he worked diligently to help them succeed at the University of Delaware. 

Award Winners for 2020

Amy Ciminnisi

Previous Juan A. Villamarin Leadership Award Recipients

Page Settings and MetaData:
(Not Shown on the Page)
Page Settings
MetaData for Search Engine Optimization
Anthropology Student Awards
  • Department of Anthropology
  • 135 Munroe Hall
  • University of Delaware
  • Newark, DE 19716, USA
  • Phone: 302-831-1851
  • Delaware Will Shine